Love You Forever

As I chose a book to read to Fin for bedtime tonight I hesitated and thought about the families impacted by the tragedy that took place at Sandy Hook Elementary one week ago tomorrow. It hurts my heart to think of losing my Fin at any age. In an ideal world a mother and father do not have to bury their children. In an ideal world the natural course of life plays out with parents passing in their old age, after having loved and nurtured their children. As I have thought and prayed about those hurting for loved ones this past week the verse John 16:33 came to mind over and over.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

That last part means good beats evil. That last part makes me feel better. I know there is nothing that would heal the pain that goes with losing a child and my heart goes out to anyone who has faced such a loss. When dark things happen I find comfort in knowing that in the end the good guys win.

To my Finley:

I’ll love you forever,

I’ll like you for always,

As long as I’m living,

My baby you’ll be.

Forever… As long as I live you will be my baby.

Those mommies and daddies are mourning the loss of their sweet babies, and as long as they live they will continue to miss their babies. Forever.

Leave a Reply

