It’s Time For an Overhaul

In the meal planning department, that is. We have a new strategy to keep the dinner rotation interesting and the pantry uncluttered. I’ll spare you the details but I will share the recipes we’ve decided on for the week ahead and let you know at the end of the week if we stuck to the plan and if the recipes are a hit or a miss.

Monday – Buffalo Chicken Tacos: I’m substituting feta for blue cheese because the smell, color and taste of the latter offend me. In place of shredded radish I am using red cabbage 1) because I found pre-shredded cabbage at the store and 2) it just sounds like a better taco accessory. I am excited to try this healthy version of an otherwise sodium rich, fatty meal.

Tuesday – Buffalo Chicken Salad: This salad with left over chicken appeals to the slacker within me, after a full day’s work who wants to cook again if it’s not necessary? I’ll use extra buffalo chicken, romaine, black beans, tomatoes, tortilla chips, and salsa or catalina dressing to make a new version of taco salad. It’s healthy and fast so needless to say I’m thrilled about this meal.

Wednesday – Bow Tie Spinach Salad: This is a recipe from the latest Cooking Light magazine consisting of equal parts spinach and pasta. Jake has been wanting to add a couple vegetarian dishes to our rotation so this is perfect. I love this idea because it’s easy, no meat cooking is required, and it will be a somewhat fast meal since we’ll have to scoot off to small group shortly after. Also, if we should decide to venture from the plan or we’re in a time crunch after work I’ll just use the spinach for a salad later in the week and cook the pasta another time.

Thursday – Italian-Style Croque Madames: I am skipping the fig spread because I can and I will probably use a whole wheat english muffin for my bread to make this healthy-ish, although we have left over bakery bread. I am also subbing bacon for prosciutto. I don’t know how I’ll feel about the sauce since it has grainy mustard in it and I don’t typically like tangy spreads. We’ll see.

So that’s the plan for the next week in the dinner department. I’m looking forward to trying these in the future as well: Lemony Chicken Saltimbocca , Cheesy Meatloaf Minis, Mexican Chicken Casserole, Lazy Baked Greek Chicken, Grilled Chicken and Bacon Mac & Cheese, Stacked Chicken Enchiladas. I’m getting hungry just thinking about all these recipes!

 

One response to “It’s Time For an Overhaul

  1. Delicious!! Going to have to try a couple of these…love love Rachel Ray. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

